The Lion King

Right, I have to get someone off my chest. I love The Lion King, for several reasons actually. Not only was it a childhood treasure for me but it is such a contemporary piece of film making that is hard to match these days. Disney’s focus on musical animation was a key part of their policy but I see The Lion King as something different. The cast is amazing, but the humor, music is over layed with its amazing story. Being based on a shakespeare play its as relevant as a film as is Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo and Julliet.
The scene in the film when Mufasa dies is still one of the most upsetting scenes in film I have seen. It may be a cartoon but its something you don’t expect in a musical cartoon film from Disney. The music is simply exceptional, Hanz Zimmer has created some of the most powerful musical scores in film and this is no different.

Back to the main point, the film is brilliant in every aspect. There is nothing that you could say is wrong with the film, many say its a “kids” film, but it seems a lot more than that, it’s a timeless piece of film which I will cherish and I would implore my future children to cherish. It’s just, amazing. Let me know what you think in the comments.

By theryangoodman Posted in Films

Leave a Reply

